University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

CONTACT | CUMMING SCHOOL OF MEDICINE

Submitted by aedowd on Mon, 07/28/2014 - 2:03pm

Submitted by aedowd on Thu, 07/31/2014 - 4:38pm

ADMINISTRATION

Cumming School of Medicine faculty organization chart (updated February 9, 2017). 

Office of the Dean

Dr. Jon Meddings
Dean
403.220.6842
meddings@ucalgary.ca
Belinda Ibrahim
Executive Assistant to the Dean
403.220.6842
ibrahim@ucalgary.ca
Dr. Glenda MacQueen
Vice Dean
403.220.2587
gmmacque@ucalgary.ca
Holly Underhill
Administrative Assistant, Vice Dean
403.220.2587
hunderhi@ucalgary.ca
Guy Levy
Executive Director
403.220.7340
glevy@ucalgary.ca
Joyce Forster
Administrative Assistant, Executive Director
403.220.8424
forster@ucalgary.ca
Kristy Potter
Manager, Academic Appointments
403.220.4246
kpotter@ucalgary.ca
Wendy Hunter
Advisor, Academic Appointments
403.220.5995
hunterw@ucalgary.ca
Reception 403.220.6843

Faculty Affairs

Dr. Ron Bridges
Senior Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs
403.220.4245
bridges@ucalgary.ca
Andrea Ancelin 
Administrative Assistant, Senior Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs
403.220.4245
aeanceli@ucalgary.ca
STRATEGIC PARTNERSHIPS AND COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT
Dr. Jennifer Hatfield
Associate Dean, Strategic Partnerships and Community Engagement
403.220.8323
jennifer.hatfield@ucalgary.ca
CLINICAL AFFAIRS
Chocku Chockalingam
University of Calgary Medical Group
403.220.4319
c.chockalingam@ucalgary.ca
Janis Zral
Transcription Services, University of Calgary Medical Group
403.592.5210
zral@ucalgary.ca
Anthony Nguyen Sturm
Manager, Alternate Academic Relationship Plan
403.220.5605
ansturm@ucalgary.ca
ALUMNI
Dr. Elisabeth Woolner 
Executive Director, Alumni Affairs
403.210.8935
medalum@ucalgary.ca
COMMUNICATIONS AND MEDIA
Jordanna Heller
Director, Communications and Media Relations
403.220.2232
jheller@ucalgary.ca

Education

Dr. Jocelyn Lockyer
Senior Associate Dean, Education
403.220.4248
lockyer@ucalgary.ca
Joyce Forster 
Administrative Assistant, Senior Associate Dean, Education
403.220.8424 
forster@ucalgary.ca
Peter Romeo
Manager Educational Operations
403.210.8604
pjromeo@ucalgary.ca
Dr. Tara Beattie
Associate Dean, Graduate Science Education
403.220.5712
medgse@ucalgary.ca
Dr. Sylvain Coderre
Associate Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education
403.220.3843
coderre@ucalgary.ca
Dr. Kelly Burak
Associate Dean, Continuing Medical Education
403.220.2130
kwburak@ucalgary.ca
Dr. Ebba Kurz
Associate Dean, Undergraduate Health and Science Education
403.210.7794
jtrangel@ucalgary.ca
Dr. Doug L. Myhre
Associate Dean, Distributed Learning and Rural Initiatives
403.210.3945
kelly.mcsweeny@ucalgary.ca
Dr. Maureen Topps
Associate Dean, Postgraduate Medical Education
403.220.7448
mtopps@ucalgary.ca
Dr. Ian Mitchell
Director, Office of Health and Medical Education Scholarship
403.220.4342
imitche@ucalgary.ca

Research

OFFICE OF THE ASSOCIATE DEAN, BASIC RESEARCH
5th Floor, TRW
Dr. Gerald Zamponi
Senior Associate Dean, Research
403.220.2441
zamponi@ucalgary.ca
Monica Belluso Gonzalez
Administrative Assistant, Senior Associate Dean, Research
403.220.4536
mbelluso@ucalgary.ca
Dr. Paul Schnetkamp
Associate Dean, Research Infrastructure
403.220.4934
pschnetk@ucalgary.ca
Dr. Ray Turner
Associate Dean, Research Grants
403.220.8452
rwturner@ucalgary.ca
Jessica Pringle
Administrative Assistant, Associate Deans, Research Infrastructure and Grants
403.220.6853
medgrant@ucalgary.ca
Patty Beug-Jang
Manager, Research Operations
403.220.8169
pabeug@ucalgary.ca
Angela Krawetz
Manager, Chairs & Strategic Projects
403.210.8114
angela.krawetz@ucalgary.ca
Cristina Rai
Research Administrative Specialist
403.210.6374
clrai@ucalgary.ca
Jenna Slobozian
Research Facilitator
403.210.7299
jslobozi@ucalgary.ca
Telma Cuellar Amozorrutia
Financial Advisor
403.220.6758
tcamozor@ucalgary.ca
Janice Scullion
Financial Advisor
403.210.6601
jscullio@ucalgary.ca
Erica Wong
Administrative Coordinator
erica.wong1@ucalgary.ca
Legal, Research Services
Web
403.210.7813
medlegal@ucalgary.ca
CLINICAL RESEARCH
7th Floor, TRW
Dr. Marcello Tonelli
Senior Associate Dean, Health Research
403.220.7906
cello@ucalgary.ca
Joan Keller
Administrative Assistant, Senior Associate Dean, Health Research
403.220.7906
mjkeller@ucalgary.ca 
Dr. Samuel Wiebe
Associate Dean, Clinical Research
403.944.8535
swiebe@ucalgary.ca
Dr. Derek Exner
Associate Dean, Clinical Trials
403.220.3219
exner@ucalgary.ca

Strategic Partnerships and Community Engagement

Dr. Jennifer Hatfield
Associate Dean, Strategic Partnerships and Community Engagement
403.220.8323
jennifer.hatfield@ucalgary.ca

Communications and Media Relations

Jordanna Heller
Director, Communications and Media Relations
403.220.2431 
jheller@ucalgary.ca

Alumni Relations

Dr. Elisabeth Woolner 
Executive Director, Alumni Affairs
403.210.8935
medalum@ucalgary.ca
Leigh Hurst
Alumni Relations Specialist
403.210.8935
clhurst@ucalgary.ca

Clinical Affairs / University of Calgary Medical Group

Chocku Chockalingam
University of Calgary Medical Group
403.220.4319
c.chockalingam@ucalgary.ca
Janis Zral
Transcription Services, University of Calgary Medical Group
403.592.5210
zral@ucalgary.ca
Anthony Nguyen Sturm
Manager, Alternate Academic Relationship Plan
403.220.5605
ansturm@ucalgary.ca

Fund Development

Barb Giba
Executive Director of Development
403.210.8715
bgiba@ucalgary.ca

Instructional Resources: Room Bookings, AV and Multimedia

Office of Faculty Development

Dr. David Keegan
Associate Dean, Faculty Development
403.220.4341
dkeegan@ucalgary.ca

Office of Equity and Professionalism

Dr. Janet de Groot
Associate Dean, Equity and Professionalism
403.210.6703
respect@ucalgary.ca

Information Technology

Human Resources and Finance

HUMAN RESOURCES
Bonnie Orr 
Human Resources Partner
403.220.5932
hr@ucalgary.ca
University of Calgary Directory
contacts.ucalgary.ca
Natalia Babanova
FINANCE
Tom Chan
Finance Partner
403.210.9178
medfin@ucalgary.ca

Campus Security

Environment, Health and Safety

Chris Pinter
Occupational Health and Safety Consultant
403.210.6962
cjpinter@ucalgary.ca

Operations and Maintenance

George Ishmurzin
Facilities Manager
403.220.5187
george.ishmurzin@ucalgary.ca
Robin Fisher
Facilities Coordinator
403.220.4194
fisherr@ucalgary.ca
Anne Heiligsetzer
Health Sciences Centre Information Desk
403.220.8403
aelheili@ucalgary.ca
ARCHIBUS Requests
Report a Facility Issue
403.220.7555
fmdcustomercare@ucalgary.ca

Distribution Services

Ron Bailey
Team Lead, Distribution Services
403.210.5499
baileyr@ucalgary.ca

Health Sciences Library

Staff Wellness Centre

Working Our Way to Wellness Committee

 

Submitted by aedowd on Mon, 07/28/2014 - 12:36pm

Submitted by aedowd on Mon, 07/28/2014 - 11:12am

RESEARCH INSTITUTES AND CENTRES

Alberta Children's Hospital Research Institute for Child and Maternal Health

Institute Director: Dr. Brent Scott 
Contact: Website

Arnie Charbonneau Cancer Institute

Institute Director: Dr. Gregory Cairncross 
Contact: Website

Calvin, Phoebe and Joan Snyder Institute for Chronic Diseases

Institute Director: Dr. Paul Kubes
Contact: Website

Hotchkiss Brain Institute

Institute Director: Dr. Sam Weiss
ContactWebsite

O'Brien Institute for Public Health

Institute Director: Dr. Bill Ghali
ContactWebsite

Libin Cardiovascular Institute of Alberta

Institute Director: Dr. Todd Anderson
ContactWebsite

McCaig Institute for Bone and Joint Health

Institute Director: Dr. Steven Boyd
ContactWebsite

Research Centres

Submitted by aedowd on Mon, 07/28/2014 - 11:33am

ACADEMIC DEPARTMENTS

Anaesthesia

Department Head: Dr. Gary Dobson 
Contact: Website

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Department Head: Dr. Jonathan Lytton
ContactWebsite

Cardiac Sciences

Department Head: Dr. Todd Anderson
Contact: Website

Cell Biology and Anatomy

Department Head: Dr. Benedikt Hallgrimsson 
Contact: Website

Clinical Neurosciences

Department Head: Dr. Rajiv Midha
Contact: Website

Community Health Sciences

Department Head: Dr. Brenda Hemmelgarn
ContactWebsite

Critical Care Medicine

Department Head: Dr. Christopher Doig
Contact: Website

Emergency Medicine

Department Head: Dr. Eddy Lang 
Contact: Website

Family Medicine

Department Head: Dr. Charles Leduc 
Contact: Website

Medical Genetics

Department Head: Dr. Francois Bernier
Contact: Website

Medicine

Department Head: Dr. Richard Leigh 
Contact: Website

Microbiology, Immunology and Infectious Diseases

Department Head: Dr. Christopher Mody
Contact: Website

Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Department Head: Dr. Douglas Wilson
Contact: 403.944.4419

Oncology

Department Head: Dr. Sunil Verma 
Contact: Website

Paediatrics

Department Head: Dr. James Kellner
Contact: Website

Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

Department Head: Dr. Hallgrimur Benediktsson (Interim)
Contact: Website

Physiology and Pharmacology

Department Head: Dr. Wallace MacNaughton
Contact: Website

Psychiatry

Department Head: Dr. Beverly Adams
Contact: Website

Radiology

Department Head: Dr. Richard Walker
Contact: Website

Surgery

Department Head: Dr. John Kortbeek
Contact: Website

MAILING ADDRESS

CUMMING SCHOOL OF MEDICINE 
Health Sciences Centre
Foothills Campus, University of Calgary
3330 Hospital Drive NW
Calgary, Alberta T2N 4N1

DEAN'S OFFICE
CUMMING SCHOOL OF MEDICINE
 
Teaching Research and Wellness
Foothills Campus, University of Calgary
3280 Hospital Drive NW
Calgary, Alberta T2N 4Z6

PARKING INFORMATION

Note: Short term parking permits for main campus parking are available to faculty and staff from the Information Desk, Health Sciences Building, 8 am to 4 pm.

NEWS MEDIA INQUIRIES

Kelly Johnston, Media Relations 
Phone: (403) 220-5012 
Email: kelly.johnston2@ucalgary.ca
Communications and Media Relations