# 5 Neuro News

The Department of Clinical Neurosciences

April 2018



Music Therapist Shannon Robinson visits Unit 58 to plan the expanded music therapy program with Dr. Stephanie Plamondon, nursing and unit staff.

### Music therapy program cranking up the volume

With the support of the National Music Centre, Calgary Health Trust, and an anonymous donor, the music therapy program at Foothills Hospital is ready to expand.

The collaboration, which includes the continued participation of JB Music, is being championed by physiatrist Dr. Stephanie Plamondon.

While initially only available to the neurorehabilitation unit, the program will be gradually

expanded to cover:

- Unit 111
- Intensive Care Unit (Pod B)
- Unit 58 (expanded)
- Palliative Care Unit 47 (expanded)

Referral forms for the program have been created and will be made available on units and can be used by physicians, nurses and allied health members.

For more information, email Shannon@JBmusic.ca



Dr. Shelagh Coutts is leading the international TEMPO-2 clinical trial.

#### TEMPO-2 trial set to study TNK use in minor strokes

DCNS neurologist **Dr. Shelagh Coutts** and the Calgary Stroke Program have launched the TEMPO-2 study.

The international study will recruit 1,300 patients from Canada, Europe and Australia to study Tenecteplase (TNK) use in minor stroke or transient ischemic attack.

"About 50 per cent of stroke is relatively minor. So it's a massive number of patients that we can

#### Click here to read **UToday story**

treat if this trial confirms the benefit of TNK," says Dr. Coutts, who is leading the trial, along with Dr. Michael Hill and Dr. Mayank Goyal.

The clot-busting research is supported by the Canadian Institutes for Health Research (CIHR).



#### Faculty retreat

If you haven't RSVPed for the one-day departmental retreat Sept. 29, please confirm your attendance by clicking here. By keeping the event in Calgary — at Hotel

Arts — it is hoped that more faculty members will be able to attend this year.

### Awards and recognition



Congratulations to **Dr. Werner Becker**, on being honoured with a 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award from Headache Cooperative of New England (HCNE).

The award was presented at the HCNE annual meeting in March.



#### **Dr. Tamara Pringsheim** was

recently honoured with the Richard Stein Memorial Award (Quality of Life) from Tourette Canada.

The award recognizes

Dr. Pringsheim's "outstanding voluntary contributions to making a difference in the lives of individuals with Tourette Syndrome."



has received the Canadian Association of Radiologists (CAR) Distinguished Career Achievement Award.

Dr. Goyal is a professor in the departments of Radiology and Clinical Neurosciences as well as the Director of Imaging and Endovascular Treatment in the Calgary Stroke Program

The award will be bestowed at the CAR Annual Scientific Meeting in Montréal on April 28.

Congratulations!



Welcome to Dr. Hedwich Kuipers, the newest DCNS faculty member.

Dr. Kuipers received her PhD in Neuroimmunology from Leiden

University in The Netherlands and completed a Post Doctorate at Stanford University.

She has joined the Section of

Translational Neurosciences and will have an office and lab in HMRB.

Welkom Dr. Kuipers!



Congratulations to Dr. Michael Hill and Dr. Robert Sevick on being nominated for the FMC Physician of the Year Award. They are amongst eight physicians nominated this year. The award will be presented May 1.

## **Residency Program News**

Congratulations to Elizabeth Martens, Neurology Residency Program Administrator, on her retirement.

Elizabeth leaves huge shoes to fill and will be greatly missed by the entire DCNS team.

Please welcome new program administrator Christopher Smith, who joins us from the Family Medicine residency program.

Neurology resident **Dr. Theo Mobach** 

was recognized with the Resident

The honour, from the Professional Association of Resident Physicians of Alberta (PARA), acknowledged his exceptional contribution to his

nominating committee.

program. "His dedication to residency is evident through his involvement in the program's ethics curriculum, guiding medical education projects, and initiating quality improvement studies," wrote the













Neurosurgery resident Dr. Stefan Lang has won a Neurosurgery Research & **Education Foundation (NREF)** fellowship award for his work with non-invasive brain stimulation.

Congratulations to all!

Neurosurgery resident

Dr. Michael Yang won the CIHR Frederick Banting and Charles Best

Canada Graduate Scholarship.

Neurosurgery resident **Dr. Albert Isaacs** has won a three-year Vanier

Dr. Isaacs is completing a unique

inter-university PhD in posthemorrhagic hydrocephalus with supervisors Dr. Mark Hamilton and

Dr. Jeff Dunn.

Canada Graduate Scholarship Award.







