

TERMS OF REFERENCE	
--------------------	--

UNDERGRADUATE MEDICAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE

<u>Role</u>

Broadly advisory to Associate Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education (UME)

Responsibility

Responsible to Strategic Education Council (SEC) for overseeing UME curriculum goals, objectives, philosophy in a manner that meets or exceeds Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) education standards.

Duties

- Provides direction to Associate Dean, UME
- Receives reports from Pre-clerkship (PCC), Student Evaluation (SEC) and Clerkship (CC) Committees.
- Reviews, on yearly basis, the UME "Goals, Objectives and Operating Philosophy" document and outcome measures relevant to the graduating objectives.
- Oversees planning, content, delivery and outcome of curriculum and recommends executive action. As such, UMEC has final authority (and thus needs not seek approval from Strategic Education Council) over decisions/policies directly relating to curricular content*.
- Sponsors strategic change and innovation in the UME curriculum.
- Monitors and evaluates UME policy and the committee's own procedures.
- Reviews adequacy of educational resources, implementation and outcome of executive action.
- Monitors Faculty developments and outcomes in medical education research.
- Creates subcommittees to develop new policy and approves appointments of Chairs of standing subcommittees and course leaders.
- Seeks approval of Strategic Education Council (SEC) for UMEC approved policies or procedures that have material impact/relevance to the entire faculty. Presents annual report of all other activities to Strategic Education Council (SEC).

Meetings

Conducted quarterly.

Quorum

A quorum will consist of 'half plus one' voting members (Excluding the Chair).

*Changes to the overall design or structure of a program, changes to the load that a student takes in an individual session or changes beyond swapping one course for another do require approval from main campus (as per their policy)

Membership

Associate Dean, UME (chair) Non-Voting

UME Assistant Dean, Pre-Clerkship Voting

UME Assistant Dean, Clerkship Voting

UME Research & Evaluation Voting

UME Director, Program Faculty and

Student Evaluations Voting

Family Medicine Department Chair 1 Position, 5 Year Term, Renewable Once

Represented by the UME Director, Department of Family Medicine -

Voting

Student Advising & Wellness Voting

CMSA Vice Presidents Academic (or Alternate)- one vote per class year

2 Positions per academic year - 1 vote per class year

UME Evaluation Supervisor Non-Voting

Manager, UME Non-Voting

Manager, Academic Technologies Non-Voting

4 Faculty Representatives, Elected by

Faculty Council

2 Positions, 3 Year Term, Renewable Once - Voting

2 Positions, 2 Year Term, Renewable Once (One from

Clinical/Adjunct Appointees) - Voting

Course Chair (Pre-Clerkship): 1 Position, 2 Year Term, Renewable Once - Voting

Basic Science Department Chair: 1 Position, 5 Year Term, Renewable Once, Represented by the

UME Director, Department of Family Medicine - Voting

Clinical Department Chair: 1 Position, 5 Year Term, Renewable Once - Voting

Professional Educator: 1 Position, 3 Year Term, Renewable Once, Nominated by Faculty

Council - Voting

UMEC Membership	Name	End of Term
Chair, Associate Dean, UME	Dr. Amy Bromley	Ex-officio
UME Assistant Dean, Pre- Clerkship	Dr. Sarah Weeks	Ex-officio
UME Assistant Dean, Clerkship	Dr. Kevin Busche	Ex-officio
UME Research & Evaluation	Dr. Janeve Desy	Ex-officio
UME Director, Program Faculty and Student Evaluations	TBD	Ex-officio
Department Head, Family Medicine	Dr. Clark Svrcek	Ex-officio
Director, Student Advising & Wellness	Dr. Carol Hutchison	Ex-officio
CMSA Vice Presidents Academic or Alternate	Class of 2026: Shiva Ivaturi Alam Randhawa	Ex-officio
	Class of 2025: Vak Joe Jason Kreutz	Ex-officio
	Class of 2027: Marissa Hsu Adibba Adel	Ex-officio
UME Evaluation Supervisor	Kerri Martin	Ex-officio
Senior Manager, UME	Shannon Leskosky	Ex-officio
Manager, Academic		
Technologies	Mike Paget	Ex-officio
Faculty Representative	Dr. Donna Slater	June 2026 June 2024
	Dr. Kim Meyers Dr. Taj Jadavji	June 2024
	Dr. Taj Jadavji Dr. James Fewell	June 2025
	Dr. Rabiya Jalil	June 2025
	(Alternate for all Faculty	dure 2020
	Members: Dr. Dan Miller)	
Course Chair (Pre-Clerkship)	Dr. Adam Bass	December 2023
Basic Science Department Head	Dr. Benedikt Hallgrimsson	June 2023
Clinical Department Chair	Dr. Dan Zuege	June 2025
Professional Educator	Dr. Naminder Sandhu	June 2025

Updated Membership: September 2024

Updated & Approved by UMEC: January 31, 2020

Approved by Strategic Education Council: September 2017