

CUMMING SCHOOL OF MEDICINE Postgraduate Medical Education

Recipients of CSCI Resident Research Award

Congratulations to:

<u>2024</u>

First Prize: Dr. Anukul Ghimire, PGY 4, Adult Nephrology Abstract title: Prescribing patterns and medications costs in patients on maintenance hemodialysis and peritoneal dialysis Authors: Dr. Anukul Ghimire, Dr. Marcello Tonelli, Dr. Anita Lloyd, Dr. Aminu Bello, Dr. Marisa Battistella, and Dr. Paul Ronksley

Second Prize: Dr. Annalise Abbott, PGY 5, Orthopaedic Surgery **Abstract title:** Elective surgical care pathways for patients with metastatic bone disease of the femur are cost effective and associated with superior clinical outcomes Authors: Dr. Annalise Abbott, Dr. Joseph K Kendal, Dr. Benjamin Wajda, Dr. Brett D Lavender, Dr. Golpira Elmi Assadzadeh, Dr. Shannon KT Puloski, Dr. Elissa Rennert-May, and Dr. Michael J Monument

Honourable Mention: Dr. Christine Lukac, PGY 3, Pedicatics

Abstract title: Impacts of the SARS-CoV-2 pandemic on the seasonal pattern of hospitalizations for acute respiratory diseases among children in Alberta, Canada, from 2004 to 2024 **Authors:** Christine Lukac, MD, MPH, James Kellner, MD, MSc, FRCPC, Brett Simms PhD, Grace P.S. Kwong PhD, Jessalyn K. Holodinsky PhD, David W. Johnson MD, FRCPC.

<u>2023</u>

First Prize: Dr. Daniel Ben Lustig, General Surgical Oncology, Fellow **Abstract title:** Comparison of Axillary Lymph Node Dissection Versus Regional Nodal Radiation in Early-Stage Breast Cancer Patients with Three or More Positive Sentinel Lymph Nodes. **Authors:** Dr. Dustin Ben Lustig, Drs. Conrad Bayley, Tien Phan, Jason Pao and May Lynn Quan.

Second Prize: Dr. Sarah Cook, Medical Oncology, PGY 4

Abstract title: Association between immune-related adverse events and survival in metastatic non-small cell lung cancer.

Authors: Dr. Sarah Cook, Vanessa Samuel, Daniel E. Meyers, Igor Stukalin, Ishjot Litt, Randeep Sangha, Don G. Morris, Daniel Y.C. Heng and Aliyah Pabani.

Honourable Mention: Dr. Evan C Compton

Abstract Title: Developing an Artificial Intelligence Tool to Predict Vocal Cord Pathology in Primary Care Settings.

Authors: Evan C. Compton MD MPhil¹, Tim Cruz MDSA², Meri Andreassen R.SLP SLP(C) CCC-SLP³, Shari Beveridge R.SLP SLP(C) CCC-SLP³, Doug Bosch MD FRCSC¹, Derrick R. Randall MD MSc FRCSC¹, Devon Livingstone MD MTM FRCSC¹

<u>2022</u>

First Prize:

Dr. Daniel Meyers, PGY-2 Internal Medicine Resident Abstract title: Development and Validation of a Prognostic Risk Model for Patients with Advanced Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer Treated with Immune Checkpoint Inhibitors

Authors: Dr. Daniel Meyers, lead author on this project, and the project supervisor is Dr. Aliyah Pabani. Additional authors include: Drs. Vishal Navani (Co-first author), Yibing Ruan, Devon Boyne, Dylan O'Sullivan, Samantha Dolter, Heidi Grosjean, Igor Stukalin, Daniel Heng, Don Morris, Darren Brenner and Winson Cheung.

Second Prize:

Dr. Fatemeh Ramazani, PGY-3 Otolaryngology Resident Abstract title: Evaluating Sensitivity and Specificity of US and CT as Diagnostic Tools for Pediatric Neck Abscesses

Authors: Fatemeh Ramazani, Warren K Yunker, C. Carrie Liu

Honourable Mention:

Dr. Ali Fatehi Hassanabad, PGY-6 Cardiac Surgery Resident

Abstract title: Determining the Translational Potential of Human Pericardial Fluid to Improve Clinical Outcomes in Cardiac Surgery

Authors: Ali Fatehi Hassanabad, Darrell B Belke, Guoqi Teng, Paul MK Gordon, Antoine Dufour, Jameson A Dundas, Anna N Zarzycki, Justin F Deniset, Paul WM Fedak

<u>2021</u>

First Prize:

Dr. Nicholas Sader, a PGY 4 Neurosurgery/ Clinician Investigator Program Resident **Abstract title:** *Can quantitative susceptibility mapping help diagnose and predict recovery of concussion in children?*

Authors: Nicholas Sader MD, David Gobbi PhD, Brad Goodyear PhD, Richard Frayne PhD, Miriam Beauchamp PhD, William R Craig MD, Quynh Doan MD PhD, Roger Zemek MD, Jay-Riva-Cambrin MD MSc (supervisor), Keith Owen Yeates PhD (co-supervisor).

Second Prize:

Dr. Albert Isaacs, a PGY 5 Neurosurgery Resident

Abstract title: Reducing the risks of proximal and distal shunt failure in adult hydrocephalus A Shunt Outcomes Quality Improvement (ShOut-QI) Study at the University of Calgary

Authors: Albert Isaacs, MD PhD, Chad Ball MD FRCSC, Nicholas Sader, MD, Sandeep Muram, MD, David Ben-Israel, MD MSc, Geberth Urbaneja, MD, Jarred Dronyk, BA, Rich Holubkov, PhD, Mark Hamilton, MDCM FRCSC FACS (supervisor).

Honourable Mention:

Dr. Steven Roy, a PGY 5 Critical Care Medicine Fellow **Abstract title:** *Cerebral Glymphatics & Delirium Exploring a candidate pathophysiological basis for delirium*



CUMMING SCHOOL OF MEDICINE Postgraduate Medical Education

Authors: Giuseppe Barisano, Kirsten Fiest (supervisor), Philippe Couillard (supervisor), Karla Krewulak, and Rebecca Brundin-Mather.

<u>2020</u>

First Prize:

Dr. Stefan Lang, a PGY 5 Neurosurgery Resident. **The abstract is entitled:** "Theta-burst stimulation for cognitive enhancement in Parkinson's disease with mild cognitive impairment: a randomized, doubleblind, sham-controlled trial". **Authors:** Stefan Lang MD^{1,2,4}, Liu Shi Gan PhD^{1,4}, Eun Jin Yoon PhD¹, Alexandru Hanganu MD, PhD^{1,2,5}, Mekale Kibreab BA¹, Jenelle Cheetham BSc¹, Tracy Hammer RN¹, Iris Kathol PhD¹, Justyna Sarna MD, PhD^{1,2}, Davide Martino MD, PhD^{1,2,4}, Oury Monchi PhD^{1,2,3,4}

Second Prize:

Dr. Aravind Ganesh, a PGY 5 Neurology Resident. **The abstract is entitled:** "Five-year clinical and health economic outcomes in patients with late functional improvement post-stroke: A population-based cohort study". **Authors:** Aravind Ganesh, Ramon Luengo-Fernandez, and Peter Rothwell (supervisor).

Honourable Mention:

Dr. Christina Thornton, a PGY 4 Respirology Fellow. **The abstract is entitled:** "Anaphylaxis and Anaphylactoid Reactions Associated with the Insertion of Peripherally Inserted Central Catheters: A Multi-Year Comparative Retrospective Cohort Study". **Authors:** Christina S. Thornton, Jody Dumanski, Cheryl-Anne Margherit, Sandra Vaz-Gonsalves, Sheryl McDiarmid, Michael D. Parkins (supervisor), John M. Conly (supervisor).

<u>2019</u>

First Prize:

Dr. Jaclyn Strauss, PGY 4 Pediatric Gastroenterology Resident "Catheter Related Complications in Central Venous Catheters Locked with Taurolidine vs Ethanol in Pediatric Patients with Intestinal Failure"

Second Prize:

Dr. Michael Yang, PGY 5 Neurosurgery Resident "Development and validation of a clinical prediction score for poor postoperative pain control following elective spine surgery: the Calgary Postoperative Pain after Spine Surgery (CAPPS) Score"

Honourable Mention:

Dr. Rachel Lim, PGY-5 Adult Respirology Resident "Oxygen in Patients with Fibrotic Interstitial Lung Disease: An International Delphi Survey"

First Prize:

Dr. Michael Yang, PGY4 Neurosurgery Resident "Calgary Shunt Protocol, an Adaptation of the Hydrocephalus Clinical Research Network Shunt Protocol Reduces Shunt Infections in Children"

Second Prize:

Dr. Joseph Kendal, PGY-3 Orthopaedic Surgery Resident BMP-2 Signalling Influences Tumour Biology in Pre-Clinical Models of Osteosarcoma"

Honourable Mention:

Dr. Hassan Azhari, PGY-3 Gastroenterology & Hepatology Fellow "Association of Distance from a Tertiary Care Centre with Access to Waitlist Placement, Receipt of Liver Transplantation, and Survival in Alberta"

<u>2018</u>