Our Team

Our Team

AKDN is a group comprised of doctors, professors, and health specialists from the University of Calgary and the University of Alberta. Their contributions, talents, and specific interests have shaped the mission, projects, and research of AKDN.

  1. Dr. Sofia Ahmed

    sofia.ahmed@ahs.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: sex differences in human cardiorenal physiology, translational research, complications of kidney disease

  2. Dr. Meghan Elliott

    meghan.elliott@ahs.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: Hypertension, Clinical Nephrology, Dialysis, Chronic Renal Failure, Kidney Disease

  3. Dr. Louis Girard

    lgirard@ucalgary.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: Clinical Nephrology, immunology, glomerulonephritis and plasmapheresis 

  4. Dr. Brenda Hemmelgarn

    brenda.hemmelgarn@ahs.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: kidney disease, hemodialysis, health services, practice guidelines

  5. Dr. Matthew James

    mjames@ucalgary.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: acute kidney injury, cardiovascular disease, health services research, risk prediction models, clinical decision support

  6. Dr. Bhavneet Kahlon

    bkkahlon@ucalgary.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: Transitions in Kidney Care from Pediatric to Adult

  7. Dr. Jennifer MacRae

    jennifer.macrae@ahs.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: vascular access, cardiovascular physiology, physiology of hemodialysis, clinical trials

  8. Dr. Braden Manns

    braden.manns@ahs.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: applied health economics, costing studies, health policy, clinical trials, chronic disease, nephrology

  9. Dr. Kevin McLaughlin

    kmclaugh@ucalgary.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: medical education, cognition, simulation

  10. Dr. Dan Muruve

    dmuruve@ucalgary.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: Personalize Medicine, Biobanking, Biology of Renal Inflammation and Renal Fibrosis

  11. Dr. Rob Quinn

    rob.quinn@ahs.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: vascular access for hemodialysis, peritoneal dialysis access, dialysis therapies, quality improvement

  12. Dr. Pietro Ravani

    pravani@ucalgary.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: research methodology; research Interests (hemodialysis access, idiopathic nephrotic syndrome, transition between disease states or health care programs

  13. Dr. Paul Ronksley

    peronksl@ucalgary.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: health services research, epidemiological methods, multi-morbidity, administrative databases

  14. Dr. Susan Samuels

    koshys@ucalgary.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: Pediatric Nephrology, childhood nephrotic syndrome, childhood chronic disease, health services research, clinical trials, policy relevant research, knowledge translation

  15. Dr. Nairne Scott-Douglas

    nairne.scott-douglas@ahs.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: hypertension, clinical trials, quality assurance projects

  16. Dr. Chandra Thomas

    chandra.thomas@ahs.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: Palliative/supportive care for kidney disease, quality improvement, medication safety in chronic kidney disease

  17. Dr. Marcello Tonelli

    cello@ucalgary.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: kidney disease, hemodialysis, health services, practice guidelines

  1. Dr. Aminu Bello

    aminu1@ualberta.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: epidemiologic methods, quality of care and innovative care pathways, outcomes research in CKD

  2. Dr. Branko Braam

    braam@ualberta.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: hypertension and hypertension mechanisms, derangement of renal function for the systems environment, optimization of volume regulation in hemodialysis

  3. Dr. Mark Courtney

    mc@ualberta.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: home dialysis therapies, healthcare quality improvement, patient safety

  4. Dr. Sara Davison

    sara.davison@ualberta.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: chronic kidney disease, palliative care, patient engagement, knowledge translation, health services research

  5. Dr. Ainslie Hildebrand

    amhildeb@ualberta.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: epidemiology, health outcomes research, glomerulonephritis, thrombotic microangiopathy, plasma exchange, renal disease of pregnancy

  6. Dr. Kailash Jindal

    Kailash.Jindal@ualberta.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: hemodialysis, peritoneal dialysis (adequacy), dialysis membrane function, vascular access

  7. Dr. Scott Klarenbach

    swk@ualberta.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: health economics, health outcomes research

  8. Dr. Ngan Lam

    nlam@ualberta.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: clinical outcomes in kidney transplant recipients and living kidney donors, administrative databases, health outcomes

  9. Dr. Neesh Pannu

    npannu@ualberta.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: epidemiology, quality improvement, acute kidney injury, dialysis

  10. Dr. Robert Pauly

    rpauly@ualberta.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: home hemodialysis (nocturnal hemodialysis, short-daily hemodialysis, modality comparisons), dialysis outcomes

  11. Dr. Kara Schick-Makaroff

    kara.schickmakaroff@ualberta.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: enhancement of quality of life for people with chronic kidney disease, person-centered care, electronic patient-reported outcomes

  12. Dr. Nikhil Shah

    nshah1@ualberta.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: Peritoneal Dialysis, home hemodialysis, integration of Social Media in Nephrology Education

  13. Dr. Stephanie Thompson

    th11@ualberta.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: Exercise adoption by CKD patients, behavioural interventions using technology to promote self-care, evaluation of healthcare delivery

  14. Dr. Kevin Wen

    kevin@ualberta.ca

    Areas of expertise/research: