Contact Us

The Office of Continuing Medical Education and Professional Development

Cumming School of Medicine
University of Calgary
GD30, TRW Building, Foothills Campus
3280 Hospital Drive NW
Calgary, AB T2N 4Z6

 

Cumming School of Medicine

Health Sciences Centre 
Foothills campus, University of Calgary 
3330 Hospital Drive NW 
Calgary, Alberta T2N 4N1

CME&PD Team

  1. Kelly Burak

    Associate Dean

    (403) 210-7197
    kwburak@ucalgary.ca
     

  2. Heather Armson

    Assistant Dean, Personalized Learning

    (403) 210-7197
    armson@ucalgary.ca

  3. David Topps

    Medical Director, Rural Education

    (403) 210-7197
    topps@ucalgary.ca

  4. Sarah Weeks

    Medical Director, Specialist and Inter-Professional Education

    (403) 210-7197
    sgweeks@ucalgary.ca

  5. Tina Nicholson

    Medical Director, Family medicine - Primary Care Engagement, Physician Learning Program (PLP)

    (403) 210-7197
    knichols@ucalgary.ca

  6. Elaine Chow Baker

    Director

    (403) 220-4251
    eachow@ucalgary.ca

  7. Alanna Wall

    Program Manager

    (403) 220-8067
    alanna.wall@ucalgary.ca

  8. Geraldine Tanis

    Executive Assistant to Kelly Burak

    (403) 210-7197
    gtanis@ucalgary.ca

     

  9. Brenda Pederson

    Accreditation and Physician Services Assistant

    (403) 220-7240
    brenda.pederson@ucalgary.ca

  1. Susan Limongiello

    Specialist, Finance & Business

    (403) 220-4868
    slimon@ucalgary.ca

  2. Melanie Planinsic

    Financial Administrator

    (403) 220-7761
    melanie.planinsic@ucalgary.ca

     

  3. Sydney Jones

    Registration Specialist

    (403) 220-7032
    sydney.jones1@ucalgary.ca

  1. Chloe Burnett

    Education Consultant, Innovation

    (403) 220-8458
    hcwu@ucalgary.ca

  2. Hilary Delver

    Education Consultant, Rural

    (403) 220-4249
    hadelver@ucalgary.ca

  3. Sheila Sun Mielke

    Education Consultant

    (403) 220-8786
    sheila.sun@ucalgary.ca

  4. Diane Simpson

    Education Consultant

    (403) 210-8804
    dsimpson@ucalgary.ca

  5. Dana Young

    Education Consultant

    (403) 220-7240
    dana.young@ucalgary.ca

  1. Rosario Villalobos-Gonzalez

    Education Coordinator

    (403) 210-6275
    maria.villalobosgonz@ucalgary.ca

  2. Niamh Lyons

    Education Coordinator, Innovation
    (403) 220 - 3379
    niamh.lyons@ucalgary.ca

  3. Kiyana Madani

    Program Assistant

    (403) 220-6493
    kiyana.madani@ucalgary.ca

  4. Lana Pankiw

    Program Assistant

    (403) 220 - 8366
    lana.pankiw1@ucalgary.ca

  5. Monica Rast

    Program Assistant

    (403) 220-6493
    Monica.rast@ucalgary.ca

  6. Caitlin Ryan

    Technical Designer

    (403) 220-4268
    cjryan@ucalgary.ca

     

  7. Rosanna Saavedra

    Program Assistant

    (403) 210-6272
    rosanna.saavedra@ucalgary.ca

  8. Shannon Stucky

    Communications & Events Coordinator

    (403) 220-6274
    shannon.stucky@ucalgary.ca

  1. Jacqueline Rainsbury

    Provincial Coordinator

    jrainsbu@ucalgary.ca

     

CME & PD Committee Membership

 (Updated September 19, 2018)

  1. Roles

    • Associate Dean, Continuing Medical Education and Professional Development, University of Calgary (Chair)
    • Representative chairs of selected CME & PD Planning Committees (e.g., Family Practice Review and Update, Calgary Therapeutics, Wednesday Evening Program and Videoconference Program)*
    • Representatives of University Clinical Departments**
    • Chair, Calgary Zone Medical Advisory Committee, or delegate
    • Two members at large appointed by Faculty of Medicine, Faculty Council***
    • Chair, CPD Committee, Alberta, College of Family Physicians of Canada, or delegate
    • Associate Dean, Distributed Learning and Regional Initiatives, University of Calgary, or delegate
  2. Roles

    • Registrar, College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta, or delegate
    • Executive Director, Alberta Medical Association, or delegate
    • Assistant Dean, Specialist Education, Continuing Medical Education and Professional Development, University of Calgary
    • Assistant Dean, Family Medicine Education, Continuing Medical Education and Professional Development, University of Calgary
    • Head of CME, Department of Family Medicine, Calgary Zone 
    • Representative, Physician Learning Program—Calgary Office
  1. CME Faculty Committee

    • Dr. Kelly Burak, Associate Dean, CME&PD (Chair)
    • Dr. Heather A. Armson, Assistant Dean, Personalized Learning
    • Dr. Sarah Weeks, Director, Specialist & Interprofessional Education
    • Dr. David Topps, Director, Rural Education
    • Dr. Tina Nicholson, Director, PrimaryCare Engagement
  2. Chairs or Representatives - CME&PD Planning Committees

    • Dr. Tina Nicholson - Family Practice Review
    • Dr. Barry Baylis - Calgary Therapeutics
    • Dr. Joan Knight -  Wednesday Evening Course
    • Dr. David Topps -  Rural Videoconference Program
    • Dr. MagdaLisztwan/ Dr. Marc Ascione - Emergency Medicine for Rural Hospitals
  3. Member at Large - Nominated by Faculty Council

    • Dr. Marcus Koch
    • Dr. Ellen Burges
  4. Chair (or delegate) - Calgary Zone Medical Advisory Committee

    Dr. Kerri Novak - Medicine, Gastroenterology

  5. Associate Dean (or delegate) - Distributed Learning and Regional Initiatives

    Dr. Aaron Johnston - Family Medicine(EM)

  6. Registrar(or delegate) - College of Physician and Surgeons of Alberta

    Dr. Karen Mazurek

  7. Executive Director (or delegate) - Alberta Medical Association

    Dr. Lyle Mittelsteadt

  8. Chair, CPD Committee (or delegate) - Alberta College of Family Physicians

    TBD

  9. Physician Learning Program

    Joe MacGillivray - Managing Director, PLP

  10. RhPAP Representative

    Dr. Jared Van Bussel

  11. University Clinic Department

    • Dr. Robin Cox - Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine
    • Dr. Andrew Grant -  Cardiac Sciences
    • Dr. Dawn Pearson - Clinical Neurosciences
    • Dr. Juliet R. Guichon - Community Health Services
    • Dr. Amanda Roze Des Ordons - Critical Care Medicine
    • Dr. Peter Davids - Emergency Medicine
    • Dr. Monica Sargious - Family Medicine
    • Dr. Rebecca Sparkes - Medical Genetics
  12. University Clinic Department (Cont)

    • Dr. Adam Bass - Medicine
    • Dr. Michael Secter - Obstetricsand Gynecology
    • Dr. Claire Temple-Oberle(Dr. Vincent Tam) - Oncology
    • Dr. Julian Midgley - Paediatrics
    • Dr. Etienne Mahe - Pathology and LaboratoryMedicine
    • Dr. Thomas Raedler - Psychiatry
    • Dr. Colin David Jones - Radiology
    • Dr. Vick Chahal - Surgery

Quick Links

Campus Security

(403) 220-5333

See more

Environment, Health & Services

See More

Health Sciences Library

See More

IT - Foothills Campus

See more

Find a Course

Courses

Browse our calendar of Face to face, Online and Series cou

Apply for Accreditation

Accreditation

Learn more about the accreditation process and apply to have your event accredited by the Office of CME&PD

For Rural Practitioners

Rural Practitioners

Browse our courses specifically designed for rural practitio