Urgent Care

urgent care

Section Chief:

Dr. Charles Wong CCFP-EM

charles.k.wong@ahs.ca

 

Contact Information - Urgent Care

Dr. Evan Bensler
Sheldon M. Chumir Urgent Care Centre
evan.bensler@ahs.ca
 

Dr. Lanette Prediger
South Calgary Health Centre
lanette.prediger@ahs.ca


Dr. Ashraf Khan
Okotoks Urgent Care
ashraf.khan2@ahs.ca


Dr. Ania Cormack
Airdrie Urgent Care
ania.cormack@ahs.ca


Dr. Glenn Curtis
Cochrane Urgent Care
glenn.curtis@ahs.ca

Who we are.

Urgent Care physicians are acute care providers skilled at diagnosing and treating acute conditions. Our teams are comprised of family physicians, emergency physicians, and anesthesiologists.

There are five Urgent Care Centres in the Calgary Zone. They are located at: Sheldon M. Chumir Health Centre, South Calgary Health Centre, Okotoks Health and Wellness Centre, Cochrane Community Health Centre, and Airdrie Community Health Centre. (Note: The Airdrie, Cochrane, and Airdrie UCCs are nested under the Department of Rural Medicine within Alberta Health Services).

 

What we do.

Urgent Care provide unscheduled care for urgent, but usually non-life-threatening medical problems. The UCCs aim to support but not supplant the roles of primary care physicians. The work of UCCs overlaps significantly with Emergency Departments, and thus their operational teams are closely intertwined.

We are currently in the process of validating a strategic plan for the Calgary Zone UCCs.

 

How do I join?

For questions about opportunities, please visit the doctorjobsalberta.albertahealthservices.ca website.


Grand Rounds Recordings

Oncology Emergencies

Oncology Emergencies and how to manage them in UCC. 
Presented by Dr. C.Card

April 2022

Grand Rounds for Sheldon Chumir Urgent Care organized by Dr. G.Smith

Watch Video

Education Resources

Opioid Use Disorder Management

Presenter: Aseem Bishnoi

Description: A summary of how to manage Opioid Use Disorders in Urgent Care, and how to initiate Opioid Agonist Therapies.

Date: March 1, 2022

Watch Video

Dysrhythmia Management

Management of dysrhythmias

  • Review of Re-entry tachycardias
  • Wide complex tachycardias
  • Updated guidelines on Atrial Fibrillation/Flutter
  • Concerning ECG findings in Syncope

Watch Video