Department of Medicine About Us Banner - Physicians having a discussion

About the Department of Medicine

Our Mission: To equitably advance health and wellness by cultivating a community of diverse physicians who lead through care delivery, discovery, innovation, education, and knowledge implementation.

 

Our Vision: Optimal healthcare and wellness for all.

Core Values

Community of Colleagues

Working collaboratively to create a respectful, inclusive, engaging and compassionate environment for our patients, our colleagues and each other.

Citizenship in Action

Focused on accountability, transparency and fulfilling our collective duties to provide high quality patient-centered care to all Albertans.

Leading Through Excellence

By promoting the curiosity and courage needed to aspire innovation and excellence in academic medicine across the CARE (clinical; administration/leadership; research; education/training) pillars.

Focusing on Wellness

Where valuing wellness for the collective supports patients’ safety, as well as promotes individual department members to realize optimal integration of career with their personal life.

Geographic Scope

The Department of Medicine is located in the Alberta Health Services – Calgary Zone and at the Cumming School of Medicine, University of Calgary.

The Department serves a catchment of 2.4 million residents of Southern Alberta, Southeastern British Columbia and Southwestern Saskatchewan.

Department Members are located in 7 medical sites across Calgary, including the Foothills Medical Centre (FMC) and UCalgary Foothills Campus, Peter Lougheed Centre (PLC) and Sunridge Medical Gallery, Rockyview General Hospital (RGH), South Health Campus (SHC), Richmond Road Diagnostic and Treatment Centre (RRDTC), Sheldon M. Chumir Health Centre, and Bridgeland Seniors Health Centre.

DoM Administrative Team

Name Role(s) Contact
Allison Mirotchnik Zone Clinical Department Manager

Shezmin Rashed

P: 403-944-8222  |  E: shezmin.rashed@ahs.ca

Dr. Jayna Holroyd-Leduc Zone Clinical & Academic Department Head

Shezmin Rashed

P: 403-944-8222  |  E: shezmin.rashed@ahs.ca

Dr. Doreen Rabi Zone Academic Deputy Department Head

Shezmin Rashed

P: 403-944-8222  |  E: shezmin.rashed@ahs.ca

Dr. Chandra Thomas Zone Clinical Deputy Department Head

Shezmin Rashed

P: 403-944-8222  |  E: shezmin.rashed@ahs.ca

Dr. Sofia Ahmed Vice Chair Research

Sajjad Surani

P: 403-220-2550  |  E: sajjad.surani@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Cheryl Barnabe Vice Chair Indigenous Health

Nadiya Richardson

E: nadiya.richardson@ahs.ca

Dr. Kelle Hurd Associate Vice Chair Indigenous Health

Hannah-Rae Peterson

P: 403-220-6376  |  E: hannahrae.peterson@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Ward Flemons Vice Chair Health Analytics & Safety

Dianne Aronyk

P: 403-220-8722  |  E: dianne.aronyk@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Karen Fruetel Vice Chair Education

Trudi Jersak

P: 403-944-2146  |  E: trudi.jersak@ahs.ca

Dr. Jane Lemaire Vice Chair Physician Wellness & Vitality

Eva Gordon

P: 403-210-7736  |  E: emgordon@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Shannon Ruzycki Associate Vice Chair Physician Wellness, Vitality & EDI

Daniella Hibberd

P: 403-944-5680  |  E: daniella.hibberd@ahs.ca

Dr. Kelly Zarnke Vice Chair Workforce Planning

Lanza D'Silva

P: 403-944-3244  |  E: lanza.d'silva@ahs.ca

Dr. Jolene Haws Site Chief - South Health Campus  
Dr. Caley Shukalek Site Chief - Foothills Medical Centre

Miwa Shibuya

P: 403-210-8468  |  E: mmshibuy@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Mitesh Thakrar Site Chief - Peter Lougheed Medical Centre

Pam Morgan

P: 403-943-4569  |  E: pam.morgan@ahs.ca

Dr. Kathryn Watson Site Chief - Rockyview General Hospital  
Sandy Hafez Administrative Services/Support Manager - FMC / PLC / SRL P: 403-312-4754  |  E:sandy.hafez@ahs.ca
Laurie Weston Administrative Services/Support Manager - RRDTC / RGH / SHC P: 403-607-2583  |  E: laurie.weston@ahs.ca
Bryan Bairstow Finance Team Lead P: 403-944-2275  |  E: bryan.bairstow@ahs.ca

Andrew Frank-Wilson

Analytics Team Lead P: 587-787-3404  |  E: andrew.frank-wilson@ahs.ca
Kelsey Muldoon Physician Recruitment Coordinator P: 403-944-2264  |  E: kelsey.muldoon@ahs.ca
Pip Hazell Project Coordinator P: 403-944-2577  |  E: phillippa.hazell@ahs.ca